July 15-22, 2007
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, CANADA
  History of the IBO  

The international biological competition between Czechoslovakia and Poland from 1985 to 1989 provided ground for the future IBO. Positive experience during international olympiads in other natural sciences and mathematics led to the idea of starting an international biology olympiad. So UNESCO asked the former Czechoslovakia to take the initiative.

Six interested countries (Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, German Democratic Republic, Poland and the Soviet Union) founded the IBO in 1989 (Prague and Brno) and participated in the first IBO which was held in Olomouc in July 1990. Notwithstanding some initial difficulties, this olympiad was a great success and it was decided to continue with the IBO. In subsequent olympiads the number of participating countries increased rapidly.

Year Country (City)Countries
1990 Czech Republic (Olomouc) 6
1991 Russia (Machatskala) 9
1992 Slovak Republic (Poprad) 12
1993 The Netherlands (Utrecht) 15
1994 Bulgaria (Varna) 18
1995 Thailand (Bangkok) 22
1996 Ukraine (Artek) 23
1997 Turkmenistan (Ashgabat) 28
1998 Germany (Kiel) 33
1999 Sweden (Uppsala) 36
2000 Turkey (Antalya) 38
2001 Belgium (Brussels) 38
2002 Latvia (Riga) 40
2003 Belarus (Minsk) 41
2004 Australia (Brisbane) 40
2005 China (Beijing)50
2006 Argentina (Río Cuarto)46
2007 Canada (Saskatoon)49

Immediately after the first olympiad, a Coordinating Center of the International Biology Olympiad was established in Prague. Every winter a meeting of appointed coordinators assembles in this center to prepare new proposals and improve regulations, the content, and preparations of future olympiads, etc.

Potential Participating Countries for the 18th IBO

Afghanistan, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Republic of Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, and Vietnam.

If your country wishes to participate in this or any upcoming International Biology Olympiad, please contact us for more details!